Advertiser Disclosure

How to Update Your License and Registration When You Move

Tvn Phph Prung Sakdi via EyeEm / Getty Images

Whether it’s across the country or just one town over, we know that a lot goes into a move. We also know that a trip to the DMV to update your license and registration is the last thing you want to add to your moving checklist.

But don’t procrastinate! You’re required to change your address on your license and registration when you move, and those tasks often have strict deadlines and associated fees.

Moving your car with you doesn’t have to be a stressful process, and MYMOVE is here to help. We have everything you need to know about updating your license and registration in each state, so you can go into the process fully prepared.

From data sourced by our partners at Reviews.com, we have information on each state’s deadlines, fees, and required documents — all gathered so you can get organized and get it done.

A State-by-State Guide to Updating Your License and Registration

Alabama:

If you’re moving within the state:

    • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
    • Time: Within 30 days of your move
    • Changing your address on your license: You’ll have to print out this form and mail it to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Licensing Division or take it to any ALEA Driver’s License Office.
    • Changing your address on your registration: Call your local Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) and give them your license number and new address.
    • What you’ll need: Alabama driver’s license card number and your new address.

If you’re moving to Alabama from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to your local driver’s license office to apply for a new license. There you’ll take a vision test, relinquish your out-of-state license, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, social security card, and two acceptable proofs of identification.
  • Fees: $36.25 to purchase the license and a $5 testing fee. Note: You cannot use a check for payment and all credit card payments come with a 4% convenience fee. 

Registration: 

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: In order to register your car in Alabama, you will need to insure your car, apply for a new title, and get your VIN verified. You will then go to your local vehicle registration office and pay the registration fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration.
  • Fees: Registration fees vary depending on a number of factors, such as vehicle type, weight, and county taxes. The registration fee can range from $15 to $23. Additional fees include: title fee ($15), title transfer fee ($1.25), and processing fee ($1.50).

Alaska

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License only
  • Time: As soon as you move
  • Changing your address on your license: You can do it online, by mailing your information into the Alaska DMV, or in person at any Alaska DMV office.
  • What you’ll need: You will need this change of address form if you do it by mail.

If you’re moving to Alaska from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to your local DMV office to apply for a new license. You are required to pass a vision test, a written knowledge test, and an alcohol and drug awareness test (if you’re 21 or older).
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, license application, social security card, two documents that show proof of identification, and proof of address.
  • Fees: $20 license fee.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: In order to register your car in Alaska, you will first need to have your VIN verified. Then, you will take the documents listed below to the local DMV and pay associated fees. Note: If you live more than 50 miles from a DMV location, you can complete the registration process by mail
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state registration and title, and a filled out copy of the title and registration application.
  • Fees: $100 registration fee, $15 title fee, $15 lien recording, $5 plate transfer. Calculate your expected fees on the Alaska DMV website.

Arizona 

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online for both your license and registration.
  • What you’ll need: Arizona driver’s license number, your birth date, and the last four digits of your social security number.

If you’re moving to Arizona from out of state: 

License:

Registration:

  • Time: Immediately after you move
  • Process: Registering your vehicle must be done in person by visiting the Arizona Motor Vehicles Division. If you’re moving to Phoenix or Tucson, your vehicle will need to undergo an emissions test prior to registration. You will also need to make sure your car is insured prior to applying for a title and registration.
  • What you’ll need: Title and Registration Application, out-of-state title, out-of-state registration and license plate, proof of insurance, proof of emissions test (if applicable), and photo ID.
  • Fees: Registration fees will be $4.50, $8.00, or $9.00 depending on the type of vehicle. There’s also an air quality fee of $1.50. The title fee is $4. Note: Arizona also charges a vehicle license tax in lieu of a personal property tax. 

Arkansas

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: No strict deadline
  • Changing your address on your license: You can change your address online through the myDMV portal, in person at any Department of Finance and Administration office, or by mail using this change of address form.
  • Changing your address on your registration: You can do this online or by contacting the Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles.
  • What you’ll need: You will need to provide your name, birth date, social security number, driver’s license number, and previous and new addresses.

If you’re moving to Arkansas from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to visit the nearest revenue office with the required documentation and payment method for the associated fees. If your license has been expired for more than 31 days or you don’t have your out-of-state license available, you will need to take the vision and written tests. If it’s been expired for more than one year, you will need to take the vision, written, and driving tests.
  • What you’ll need: Proof of legal residency, social security card, and two acceptable proofs of identity. Note: If you want to apply for an Enhanced Security Driver’s License, you will need to show two documents proving legal residency and will have to go to a specific Enhanced Security DL/ID Office.
  • Fees: $40 license fee with a $2 surcharge if you pay with a credit card.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to register your vehicle in person at the nearest Office of Motor Vehicles. In order to register your car, you must first obtain an Arkansas insurance policy and transfer your out-of-state title to an Arkansas title (but you can do this when you go to register your car).
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state registration, out-of-state title, proof of Arkansas insurance, the completed Vehicle Registration Application, bill of sale and odometer disclosure statement, proof of car assessment, and proof of inspection.
  • Fees: $17-$30 registration fee that varies based on variables such as size and type; $10 title fee. Note: You will also have to pay taxes and will be subject to late fees if you exceed the 30-day registration deadline.

California

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move.
  • Process: You can change your address online or by mail using the Notice of Change of Address form.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license number, license issue date, Social Security card, date of birth, your most recent registration card, your old and new address, your plate number, and your VIN.

If you’re moving to California from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 10 days of your move.
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest DMV office and complete the process in person (but you can schedule your appointment and skip the lines). You will be required to complete a vision exam and a written exam. Driving tests are usually waived for people with valid out-of-state license is valid.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, license application (which you can get at the DMV), Social Security card, proof of birth date and lawful presence, two proofs of CA residency, and a form of payment for fees.
  • Fees: $36 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 20 days of your move.
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest DMV office and complete the process in person (but you can schedule your appointment and skip the lines). California requires an emissions test, VIN verification, and proof of California insurance prior to registration.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, a completed application for California title and registration, a completed verification of vehicle form, emissions test results, and proof of inspection.
  • Fees: $60 registration fee, $20 title fee, $15 title transfer fee, $26 California Highway Patrol fee, and a transportation improvement fee that ranges from $25 to $175.

Colorado

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address on your license online, or in person at any Colorado DMV. To change your address on your registration, you have to go to the DMV and do it in person.
  • What you’ll need: Change of address form, date of birth, driver’s license number, new/old mailing address, new/old residence address, proof of identification, proof of residence, and social security number.

If you’re moving to Colorado from out of state: 

License:

Registration:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to secure a Colorado insurance policy, undergo an emissions test, and verify your VIN prior to registering your car.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, VIN verification certificate, photo ID, emissions test results, and proof of insurance.
  • Fees: Determined by the weight and type of vehicle being registered.

Connecticut

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 48 hours of your move
  • Process: Print out and complete the change of address form and send it to the Connecticut DMV. Call the DMV’s Customer Contact Center and ask for a new address label that you will then place on the back of your license. On your registration, cross out your old address and write the new address in the space provided.
  • What you’ll need: Change of address form, driver’s license number and issue date, plate number, Social Security card, date of birth, and a valid email.

If you’re moving to Connecticut from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to visit a Connecticut DMV office and pass a vision exam. You will most likely not have to pass a driver’s test, but that’s up to the licensing agent. Note: You can check your wait time ahead of your trip to the DMV.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state driver’s license, license application form, and proof of identification.
  • Fees: $40 application fee and $72 license fee.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: Before registering your car, you will need to secure a Connecticut insurance policy and have an emissions test conducted (if it’s more than four years old). If you’re exempt from the emissions test, you will have to submit a VIN verification report.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, bill of sale certificate, emissions report/VIN verification report, Connecticut insurance identification card, and proof of identification.
  • Fees: Registration fees vary by vehicle type, but range from $19 to $80. There’s also a $20 emissions test fee and a few other additional fees.

Delaware

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to take a completed Change of Address form to your closest Delaware DMV office or send it by mail.
  • What you’ll need: Change of address form, driver’s license number, date of birth, new residential address, new mailing address, and a valid phone number

If you’re moving to Arizona from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You must go in person to the nearest Delaware DMV office and pass a vision test.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state driver’s license, proof of identity, proof of lawful residence, proof of social security number, two proofs of your Delaware address, and any proof that you’ve changed your legal name.
  • Fees: $40 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: Before you can get your car registered, you will have to secure an approved insurance policy, verify your VIN, and pass an emissions test. Then, you can go to the closest DMV to register your vehicle and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Certificate of Title Application, proof of Delaware insurance, out-of-state title, proof that you’ve passed the emissions test, and past inspection results.
  • Fees: $40 registration fee, $10 plate fee, and a $35-$55 titling fee.

Florida 

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online or in person at the nearest Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office.
  • What you’ll need: Proof of identification, proof of social security, two proofs of Florida address, and proof of any legal name changes.

If you’re moving to Florida from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of moving
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest Florida DHSMV location and take a vision test. A driving test may be waived with proof of a valid U.S. driver’s license.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state driver’s license, proof of legal resident, proof of social security number, two proofs of Florida residence, and any proof of legal name changes.
  • Fees: $48 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of moving
  • Process: Prior to getting your car registered, you will need to show proof of a Florida car insurance policy, a Florida driver’s license, VIN verification, and an odometer reading.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, form HSMV 82042 verifying your VIN and odometer reading, proof of Florida insurance, Florida driver’s license.
  • Fees: Registration fees vary depending on vehicle type and weight. There’s also a title fee $72.50 (without liens) and $28 new license plate fee.

Georgia 

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online or in person at a Georgia Department of Driver’s Services customer service center.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license number and old/new residential address.

If you’re moving to Georgia from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: 30 days
  • Process: You will need to go to the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services and pass a vision test. A driving test may be waived if your previous driver’s license is still valid or has been expired for less than two years.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, proof of identification, proof of social security number, and two proofs of Georgia address.
  • Fees: $32 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: 30 days
  • Process: Prior to registering your car, you will need to secure a Georgia insurance policy, have your VIN verified, and have an emissions test conducted (for some counties). You will also have to apply for a Georgia title through the state Department of Revenue. You will then go to the nearest Department of Driver’s Services office and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title/registration/license, proof of Georgia insurance, emissions test results (if applicable), title/tag application, proof of inspection, manufacturer’s certificate of origin, and proof of Georgia residency.
  • Fees: $18 title transfer fee, $20 registration fee, and a $1 processing fee.

Hawaii

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: The process slightly differs depending on your county. You will need to send a letter or go in person to your nearest registration and licensing division —
    • Hawaii County Vehicle Registration and Licensing Division: 349 Kapiolani Street, Hilo, HI 96720
    • Honolulu County Driver’s License Section: P.O. BOX 30340, Honolulu, HI 96820-0340
    • Maui County Division of Motor Vehicles and Licensing: 70 E. Kaahumanu Ave. Maui Mall Suite A-17, Kahului, HI 96732
    • Kauai County Drivers License Division: 4444 Rice Street, Suite A480 LĪHUʻE, HI 96766
  • What you’ll need: Again this changes depending on your location, but you will most likely need the following information for your license: Your driver’s license number, old resident address, new residential address, your date of birth, your name as it appears on your license, and your signature to your island’s registration and licensing division. You’ll also need your license plate number and your VIN for your registration.

If you’re moving to Hawaii from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to your nearest driver’s license office to take a vision exam, complete a written test, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: A completed driver’s license application, your out-of-state license, and documents proving your name, date of birth, social security number, citizenship, and your Hawaii address.
  • Fees: Your license fees depend on location and age.
    • Hilo and Honolulu Counties: $20 for people ages 18-24, $40 for people ages 25-71, and $10 for people ages 72+.
    • Maui County: $40 for people ages 16-24, $80 for people 25-71, and $20 for people 72+.
    • Kauai County: $16 for people ages 18-24, $32 for people ages 26-71, and $8 for people ages 72+.

Registration:

    • Time: Within 30 days of moving
    • Process: Prior to registering your vehicle, you will have to get the VIN verified. You will then go to the nearest motor vehicle registration office and pay the associated fees.
    • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, proof of inspection, proof of vehicle weight from the manufacturer, and the following forms: Application for registration, vehicle arrival certification, application for duplicate motor vehicle certificate, and tax certification (if the vehicle is less than four years old).
    • Fees: $45 state fee, $12 county fee, $5 to $20 transfer fee, and a $1 beautification fee.

Idaho

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration (but once you change your address on your license, your registration record will be automatically updated).
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to fill out the change of address request form and mail it to driver’s services at the Idaho transportation department. You can also email it: dmvadintctl@itd.idaho.gov
  • What you’ll need: Change of address request form, driver’s license number, date of birth, and your new address.

If you’re moving to Idaho from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest Idaho DMV location, complete a vision test, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Documents proving your identification, age, your Idaho address, citizenship, and any legal name changes.
  • Fees: License fees vary based on age and length of the license.
    • Under 18: $10 ID card fee (valid until 18th birthday)
    • Ages 18-21: $10 ID card fee (valid until 21st birthday) and $25 for a three-year driver’s license
    • Ages 21+: $10 ID card fee (valid for four years) or $20 ID eight-year ID card fee. It’s $30 for a four-year license.
    • Ages 21-62: 10 ID card fee (valid for four years) or $20 ID eight-year ID card fee. It’s $55 for an eight-year driver’s license.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move
  • Process: Before you take your car to get registered, you will need to secure an Idaho insurance policy, have the VIN checked, and conduct an emissions test (if you live in Ada and Canyon Counties, or the city of Kuna). You will then need to go to the nearest DMV office and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, your application for a certificate of title, a photo ID and documents proving your social security number, Idaho residence, VIN inspection, and an Idaho insurance policy.
  • Fees: $21 title fee and registration fees determined by vehicle age: $69 for vehicles 1-2 years old, $57 for those 3-6 years old, and $45 for vehicles 7+ years old. Additional fees include: $75 hybrid vehicle charge, $14 title transfer, $5 inspection, and $3.75 plate fee.

Illinois

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can complete your request online on in person at the nearest Driver Services Facility.
  • What you’ll need: Your driver’s license number for your license, and the following information for your registration ‚ license plate number, registration expiration year, and the last four digits of your VIN.

If you’re moving to Illinois from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest Driver Services Facility, take a vision test, and pay the required fees. You may not have to take a driving exam if your out-of-state license is still valid.
  • What you’ll need: Documents showing proof of identification, date of birth, Illinois address, and a written signature.
  • Fees: Vary by age — $5 for ages 18-20, $30 for ages 20-68, $5 for ages 69-80, $2 for ages 81-86, and it’s free for people older than 87.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can start the process online by completing and printing the Application for Vehicle Transactions. You will then take the application, other documents, and payment methods for the associated fees to the nearest Secretary of State facility.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, your completed Application for Vehicle Transactions, photo ID with your signature, odometer reading, and car description.
  • Fees: $50 title fee and registration fee ranging from $101 to $114.

Indiana

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You have to change your address in person by visiting a local Bureau of Motor Vehicles location. There, you can also get a replacement driver’s license and change the address on your registration.
  • What you’ll need: Your old driver’s license, social security card, birth certificate, and two proofs of address. You will also need to pay a $10.50 fee.

If you’re moving to Indiana from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest BMV office, take the vision exam, and pay the associated fees. Driving and written tests are waived if your out-of-state license is still valid or is less than three years old.
  • What you’ll need: Documents proving your identity, social security number, Indiana address, and citizenship.
  • Fees: License fees vary by age — $17.50 for those younger than 71 years old, $11 for people 75-84 years old, and $17 for those 85+.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to take your title application (and other documents) to the nearest BMV office and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and license, title application, vehicle inspection, proof of Indiana insurance, photo ID with signature, and proof of Indiana residence.
  • Fees: $15 title fee, $25 expedited title service fee, $9.50 license plate transfer fee, $21.35 standard registration fee, and $5 VIN inspection fee.

Iowa 

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to visit your nearest Iowa Driver’s License Service Center.
  • What you’ll need: Your old and new addresses, your driver’s license, and $10 to pay a change of address fee.

If you’re moving to Iowa from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to your nearest Iowa Motor Vehicle Division office, complete a vision test, and pay the required fees.
  • What you’ll need: Documents proving your identification, social security number, Iowa address, citizenship, and any legal name changes.
  • Fees: $4/year up to eight years

Registration:


Kansas

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Process: You can change your license address online, but must go in person to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office to change your address on your registration.  
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license number, date of birth, social security number, phone number, mailing address, and new address.

If you’re moving to Kansas from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to a local Kansas Department of Revenue office, take a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Documents proving your identification, name, date of birth, social security number, Kansas address, citizenship, and any legal name changes.
  • Fees: $29 for drivers 21-65 years old, $23 for drivers ages 65+.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move.
  • Process: You will need to get your VIN verified and your car insured in the state before you go to your local county treasurer’s office to register your car. You will need to gather the required forms and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, your motor vehicle examination certificate, your title and registration application, and proof of a Kansas insurance policy.
  • Fees: Registration fees range from $39 to $49. There’s a $10 title fee and a $20 inspection fee.

Kentucky

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to change your address in person at the Circuit Clerk’s Office.
  • What you’ll need: Proof of residency

If you’re moving to Kentucky from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go in person to the Circuit Clerk’s Office and take a vision exam. You will also need to pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, driver’s license ID card application (form TC 94-30), social security number, your Kentucky address, birth certificate, and your previous state’s driving records.
  • Fees: $43 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 15 days of your move
  • Process: Before registering your car, you will need to secure a Kentucky insurance policy and have your VIN verified. You will then go to the County Clerk’s Office with the necessary documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, out-of-state license, your title/registration application, proof of Kentucky insurance, vehicle inspection report, and proof of payment for taxes in your previous state.
  • Fees: $9 title fee, $17 transfer fee, $25 yearly car registration fee, $6 inspection fee, and $22 title lien statement fee.

Louisiana

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go in person to the nearest Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles location.
  • What you’ll need: Your driver’s license number and proof of insurance.

If you’re moving to Louisiana from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go in person to an Office of Motor Vehicles branch, take a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: License card application, out-of-state license, two proofs of identification, and documents proving your social security number, date of birth, citizenship, Louisiana address, and Louisiana insurance.
  • Fees: $32.23 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to secure a Louisiana car insurance policy prior to registering your vehicle. You will then take the necessary documents to the local OMV branch and pay the required fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, driver’s license, vehicle application, proof of Louisiana insurance, and proof of sales tax payment (if already paid).
  • Fees: $68.50 title fee, $8 handling fee, $3 license transfer fee, and a plate fee that ranges from $20 to $82.

Maine

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address in person at the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles office nearest to you.
  • What you’ll need: Proof of your new address and proof of identity

If you’re moving to Maine from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the local Bureau of Motor Vehicles office, take a vision test, and pay the required fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license and documents proving your Maine address and citizenship.
  • Fees: $35 application fee and a $30 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your car, you will need to get your VIN verified, pass an emissions test, and pay an excise tax. You will then take all of your necessary documents to either your local municipal office or the nearest Main Bureau of Motor Vehicles office and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state registration and title, both the white and yellow copies of your registration application, proof of Maine insurance, an excise tax recept, and a Maine use tax form.
  • Fees: $35 registration fee and $33 title application fee

Maryland 

If you’re moving within the state:

If you’re moving to Maryland from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to an MVA full-service branch, take a vision test, and pay the required fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license and documents proving your identity date of birth, social security number, and Maryland address.
  • Fees: $72.00 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to first pass an emissions test, get your vehicle inspected, and get your VIN verified before you go to the nearest MVA full-service branch to register.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, title application, proof of Maryland insurance, and safety inspection certificate.
  • Fees: $100 new title fee, $136 registration fee for vehicles less than 3,700 pounds, and $187 registration fee for vehicles weighing more than 3,700 pounds.

Massachusetts

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online or in person at a Registry of Motor Vehicles location.
  • What you’ll need: A filled out change of address form, your date of birth, and your Massachusetts license number.

If you’re moving to Massachusetts from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: As soon as you’ve moved and established residency.
  • Process: You will have to go to the Massachusetts RMV in person and take a vision exam. You may need to take a written and driving exam, but that’s up to the licensing agent.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, driver’s license application, and documents proving your date of birth, social security number, your Massachusetts address, and your signature.
  • Fees: $115 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: As soon as you’ve moved and established residency. Note: Your inspection must be done within a week of moving to the state.
  • Process: Prior to registering your car, you will have to get the VIN verified, secure an in-state insurance policy, and have an emission test conducted. You will then have to go in person to an RMV service center to get your vehicle registered and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, proof of a Massachusetts insurance policy, and your title and registration application.
  • Fees: $60 registration fee, $25 transfer registration fee, and $70 certificate of title fee. You will also need to pay $35 to have your vehicle inspected.

Michigan

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration. Note: When you change your address on your license, it will automatically update on your registration.
  • Time: As soon as you’ve moved and established residency.
  • Process: You can do it online or in person at the nearest Michigan Secretary of State location.
  • What you’ll need: Your change of address form and your license.

If you’re moving to Michigan from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: As soon as you’ve moved and established residency
  • Process: You will have to go in person to the nearest Secretary of State Office, complete a vision exam, and pay the associated fees. Want to skip the lines? You can schedule an appointment.
  • What you’ll need: Documents proving your identity, social security number, citizenship, and Michigan address.
  • Fees: $25 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: As soon as you’ve moved and established residency
  • Process: Prior to registering your car, you will have to show proof of an in-state insurance policy. You will then go in person to the nearest Secretary of State Office and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title or registration, proof of Michigan insurance policy, and your photo ID.
  • Fees: $15 title fee and a registration fee that’s determined by MSRP or weight. You will also have to pay an $8 title transfer fee and $5 for your license plate.

Minnesota

If you’re moving within the state:

If you’re moving to Minnesota from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go in person to a DVS office, take a written and vision exam, and pay the associated fees. A driving exam is waived if you have a valid out-of-state license.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, two documents proving your identity, and proof that you’ve passed the written exam and a previous driving exam.
  • Fees: $32 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to the nearest DVS office that does registrations, take the necessary documentation, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and license, your title and registration application, your lienholder information (if applicable), and an odometer reading.
  • Fees: $30 title fee and registration fee determined by your vehicle’s age and type.

Mississippi

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go in person to the nearest Department of Public Safety office.
  • What you’ll need: Your license and proof of your change of address.

If you’re moving to Mississippi from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go in person to the nearest Department of Public Safety office, complete a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, license application, social security card, birth certificate, and proof of your Mississippi address.
  • Fees: $24 for a four-year license and $47 for an eight-year license

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your car, you are required to have your VIN verified. You will then go to your local Tax Collector’s office with the necessary documentation and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, photo ID, and an odometer reading.
  • Fees: $14 registration fee for two years and a $9 title fee. You will also have to pay a $10 license plate fee and a $15 road and bridge use tax

Missouri

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: As soon as you’ve moved and established residency
  • Process: You can do it online or in-person at the nearest Department of Revenue office.
  • What you’ll need: Your driver’s license, date of birth, social security number, your old/new address, your email address, and a completed Change of Address form.

If you’re moving to Missouri from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: As soon as you’ve moved and established residency.
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest Department of Revenue office, complete a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Your driver examination record form and documents proving your identification, your social security number, your Missouri address, and your citizenship.
  • Fees: $22.50 for a three-year license and $25 for a six-year license

Registration:

  • Time: As soon as you’ve moved and established residency
  • Process: Prior to registering your vehicle, you will need to verify your VIN and have an emissions test conducted. You will also need to have your car and odometer inspected. You will then go to the nearest Department of Revenue office and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title or registration, title and license application, proof of in-state insurance, a statement of non-assessment from the county collector’s office, and your odometer disclosure statement.
  • Fees: $7 registration fee (good for two years) and an $11 title fee.

Montana

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration. If you change your address on your license, it will automatically update your registration.
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can send your completed change of address form to the Montana Motor Vehicle Division’s Records Section — P.O. Box 201430 Helena, Montana 59620-1430
  • What you’ll need: A completed change of address form, new license number, old address, and new address.

If you’re moving to Montana from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to your local County Treasurer Motor Vehicle Office in person and take a mandatory vision exam. Then, you’ll have to show the necessary documentation and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Documents proofing your identification, Montana address, and citizenship.
  • Fees: $41.72 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: Before you can register your car, you will need to get your VIN verified. You will then need to take the necessary documents to your local County Treasurer Motor Vehicle Office and pay the mandatory fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and license, statement of fact, and a notarized signature form. You can also apply for a title using this form.
  • Fees: Registration fees are determined by the vehicle’s age — $217 for a car less than 4 years old, $87 for a car that’s 5-10 years old, and $28 for a car that’s 11 years or older. (Note: If your car is 11 years or older, you can register it permanently for $87.50.) Here are the additional fees: $12 title fee, a $10 Montana Highway Patrol Salary and Retention fee, and a $5 insurance verification fee.

Nebraska

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Two documents proving your address change (i.e. recent mail with your new address, Nebraska voter registration card, a pay stub with your new address, and more examples here). You will also need a valid email, telephone number, and credit/debit card.

If you’re moving to Nebraska from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest DMV location in person, take a mandatory vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Documents proving your social security number, Nebraska address, and citizenship.
  • Fees: Determined by the length of the license — $7.50 for one year, $12.50 for 1-2 years, $16.50 for 2-3 years, $21.50 for 3-4 years, and $26.50 for 5+ years.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your vehicle, you will need to get your VIN verified and secure a Nebraska insurance policy. You will then go to your nearest DMV location in person with the necessary documents and pay the associated fees. While you’re there, you can also apply for a new title.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state registration, proof of Nebraska insurance, and a signed lease (if applicable). You will also need to fill out the title application.
  • Fees: $15 registration fee and a $10 title fee. Additional fees include: $3.30 plate fee, $2 for the DMV cash fund, $1.50 for the State Recreation Road Fund, $1.50 for the County General Fund, and $0.50 for the Emergency Medical System Operation Fund.

Nevada

If you’re moving within the state:

If you’re moving to Nevada from out of state: 

License:

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your vehicle, you will need to secure an in-state insurance policy, have an emissions test conducted, and verify your VIN. You will then need to go to the nearest DMV location with the necessary documents and pay the mandatory fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, proof of Nevada insurance policy, emissions report, and VIN inspection results.
  • Fees: $33 registration fee, $29.25 title fee, $21 title transfer fee, and an $8.95 title processing fee

New Hampshire

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address in person at any DMV location or by mail (New Hampshire DMV – Driver Licensing 23 Hazen Drive Concord, New Hampshire 03305)
  • What you’ll need: Record Change Request Form, your new address, your driver’s license, and payment for a $3 fee.

If you’re moving to New Hampshire from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest DMV location in person, take a mandatory vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, your driver’s license application, and documents proving your identity and your New Hampshire address.
  • Fees: $50 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move. Note: You must have your car inspected within 10 days of registering it.
  • Process: Prior to registering your vehicle, you will need to have an emissions test done and the VIN verified. Then, you’ll need to go to the nearest town or city clerk’s office with the required documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state registration and title, and proof of New Hampshire residence.
  • Fees: Registration fees range from $31.20 to $55.20. There’s a $25 title transfer fee, an $8 plate fee, and inspection fees can range from $20 to $50.

New Jersey

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within the first week after your move
  • Process: You can change your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Your new address, social security number, and driver’s license number.

If you’re moving to New Jersey from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of moving.
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest Motor Vehicle Commission office and take a mandatory vision exam. You will have to present the necessary documentation and pay a license fee.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, two proofs of identification, and documents proving your social security number and New Jersey address.
  • Fees: $24 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of moving
  • Process: Prior to registering your vehicle, you will need to secure an in-state insurance policy and have your VIN inspected. You will then have to take the required documents to your nearest Motor Vehicle Commission office and pay the mandatory fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, your application for certificate of ownership, your registration application, proof of a New Jersey insurance policy, your photo ID, and an odometer reading.
  • Fees: Registration fees are determined by vehicle weight and age. There’s also a $60 title fee.

New Mexico

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online or mail the form (MVD Data Entry Unit P.O. Box 630 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-0630)
  • What you’ll need: Change of address form, new home address, mailing address (if different), driver’s license number, and social security number.

If you’re moving to New Mexico from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: As soon as you move
  • Process: You will need to go in person to the nearest MVD location, take a necessary vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, your “None for the Road” DWI home study, original copies of your birth certificate and social security number, and proof of your New Mexico address.
  • Fees: $18 for a four-year license and $34 for an eight-year license

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to get your VIN verified and secure a New Mexico insurance policy prior to registering your car. If you live in Bernalillo County, you will also need to have an emissions test conducted. You will then go to the nearest MVD location, apply for a title, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, your title and registration application form, proof of an in-state insurance policy, photo ID, your emissions test results, two proofs of residency, and your VIN verification document.
  • Fees: Registration fees range from $27 to $62 for a one-year registration and from $54 to $124 for a two-year registration.

New York 

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online or by mail (NYS DMV License Production Bureau P.O. Box 2895 Albany, NY 12220-0895)
  • What you’ll need: Change of address form, driver’s license number, license plate number, and your new address.

If you’re moving to New York from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of hour move
  • Process: You will need to go to your nearest New York DMV location in person and take a vision exam. You’ll also have to take the necessary forms with you and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, your license application, and documents proving your identification, social security number, date of birth, and New York address.
  • Fees: Standard license fees range from $65 to $75 and enhanced documents cost $30

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your car, you will have to secure an in-state insurance policy, run an emissions test, and have your VIN verified. You must then go in person to the local DMV location with the necessary documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, your vehicle registration application, your title application, the vehicle bill of sale and sales tax form, proof of New York insurance, and a photo ID.
  • Fees: Registration fees are determined by vehicle weight and there’s a $50 title fee. Additional fees include: $10 safety inspection fee, $25 license plate fee, $32.50 electric vehicle fee, and an emissions test fee that ranges from $11 to $27.

North Carolina

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address and order a duplicate license/registration online.
  • What you’ll need: For your license, you will need your driver’s license number, your Social Security Number (or Taxpayer Identification Number or U.S. Visa Number), and a payment method of the $13 fee. For your registration, you will need your car’s license plate number, the last five characters on the vehicle title number, a valid email address, and a payment method for the $20 fee. More information here.

If you’re moving to North Carolina from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of moving
  • Process: You will need to take the necessary documents in person to the nearest DMV Driver License Office, take a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Documents proving your identity, age, citizenship, and North Carolina insurance.
  • Fees: $5 a year

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move. Note: Your inspection must take place within 90 days of registering your vehicle.
  • Process: Prior to registering your car, you will need to secure a North Carolina insurance policy, have your VIN verified and have an emissions test conducted (in certain counties). Then, you will take the necessary documents to the local DMV and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state notarized title or registration, out-of-state driver’s license, your title application, and proof of in-state insurance.
  • Fees: $52 title fee and a standard plate fee that ranges from $36 to $51 depending on the county. There’s also a $20 transfer of plate fee.

North Dakota

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can update your address on your license and registration online.
  • What you’ll need: To update your license, you will need your license number, date of birth, and the name as it appears on your current license. For your registration, you will need your current registration and your license plate number.

If you’re moving to North Dakota from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to take the necessary documents in person to the local DOT office, take a vision exam, and pay the associated fee.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license and documents proving your identity and North Dakota address.
  • Fees: $15 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to have your VIN verified before you register your car. Then, you will go to the nearest DMV with the necessary documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, title application, and proof of legal name.
  • Fees: Registration fee is determined by weight and there is a $5 title transfer fee

Ohio 

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: No time limit, but we recommend getting this over and done with as soon as you can!
  • Process: You can change your address online or in person at any DMV location.
  • What you’ll need: Your license number, date of birth, and your social security number. If you decide to change your address in person or by mail, you will need to fill out the change of address form (address included on the form).

If you’re moving to Ohio from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the local Deputy Registrar License Agency, take a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license and title, and documents proving your full legal name, any name changes, social security number, Ohio Address, and citizenship.
  • Fees: $23 license fee, $3.50 transaction fee, $1.50 lamination fee, and $2.75 vision screening fee.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your car, you will need to verify your VIN, get an emissions test done, and title your vehicle. To get an Ohio title, you must apply using this form.
  • What you’ll need: Ohio title, photo identification, social security number, VIN inspection, and emissions test results.
  • Fees: $15 certificate of title, $34.50 registration fee, $4.50 registration transfer fee.

Oklahoma

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can update your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Your old and new addresses, your legal name, your email, your date of birth, and your driver’s license number.

If you’re moving to Oklahoma from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest Driver License Exam Site, take a vision exam, and pay the mandatory fees. You may be required to take a written and driving test if your current license has been expired for more than six months.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license and documents proving identity, social security number, and any legal name changes.
  • Fees: $23 license fee and $4 application fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your vehicle, you will have to secure an Oklahoma insurance policy, get an odometer reading and verify your VIN. Then, you can go to your nearest local tag agency with the necessary documents, apply for a title, pay the associated fees, and register your car.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, your title application, proof of an in-state insurance policy, and an odometer disclosure.
  • Fees: $11 title fee, $96 registration fee (good for four years), and $4 for a certificate of ownership. Additional fees include: $4 for the VIN inspection and odometer reading, a $4 plate fee, and a $17 title transfer fee.

Oregon: 

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration. Updating your address on your license automatically changes it on your registration.
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online or in person at any DMV location.
  • What you’ll need: Change of address form, new address, driver’s license number, and date of birth.

If you’re moving to Oregon from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to take the necessary documents to the nearest DMV location, complete a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, license application, and documents proving your Oregon address, citizenship, and any legal name changes.
  • Fees: $60 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Before you can register your car, you will have to have an emissions test conducted on your vehicle and verify your VIN. You will then go to the nearest DMV location with the required documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, your title and registration application, your Certification of Oregon Residency or Domicile, VIN inspection results, emissions test results, and an odometer reading.
  • Fees: $93 title fee, $112 registration fee, $7 VIN inspection fee, and $17 standard plate fee.

Pennsylvania

If you’re moving within the state:

If you’re moving to Pennsylvania from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest Driver’s License Center location, take a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, license application, and documents proving your identity, social security number, Pennsylvania address, and any legal name changes.
  • Fees: $30.50 for a four-year license and $20 for a two-year license (for drivers ages 65+)

Registration:

  • Time: Within 20 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your car, you will need to secure a Pennsylvania insurance policy, verify your VIN, and have an emissions test conducted (if the car is 11 years old or younger). You will then have to go to the nearest DMV location with the required documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, your title application, proof of an in-state insurance policy, VIN verification results, and a photo ID.
  • Fees: $38 registration fee and $55 title fee.

Rhode Island

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online or by sending the form by mail (address on form).
  • What you’ll need: Change of address form, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration.

If you’re moving to Rhode Island from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to the Cranston DMV with your required documentation, take a vision exam, and pay an associated fee.
  • What you’ll need: A signed license application and documents proving identity, social security number, Rhode Island address, and any legal name changes.
  • Fees: $39.50

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move.
  • Process: Before you can register your vehicle, you must secure a Rhode Island insurance policy, have an emissions test conducted, and verify your VIN. You must then go to the nearest DMV branch with the necessary documents, apply for a title, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, title and registration application, proof of Rhode Island insurance policy, VIN check, photo ID, and proof of in-state residency.
  • Fees: Registration fees start at $45. There’s also a $52.50 new title fee and a $31.50 plate fee.

South Carolina

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online or in person at any DMV branch.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license number, social security number, and date of birth.

If you’re moving to South Carolina from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 45 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to the nearest DMV location with the required documents, take a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Your license application and documents proving your identity, date of birth, social security number, citizenship, and any legal name changes. You will also need two documents proving your South Carolina residency.
  • Fees: $12.50 for a five-year driver’s license and $25 for an eight-year license.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 45 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your vehicle, you will need to secure a South Carolina insurance policy and have your VIN verified. You will then go to the nearest DMV location with the required documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, your application for a South Carolina title and registration, proof of in-state insurance policy, photo ID, and the original vehicle tax receipt.
  • Fees: $40 registration fee, $15 title fee, and a $250 infrastructure maintenance fee.

South Dakota

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: No time limit, but we recommend getting this over and done with as soon as you can!
  • Process: You can change your address online, if you’re eligible. You can check your eligibility here. You can then request a duplicate license for $15.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license number, date of birth, name as it appears on your license, your social security number, and a valid email address.

If you’re moving to South Dakota from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to the nearest South Dakota Driver Exam Location with the required documents, take a vision exam, and pay the associated fees. Note: You can schedule your appointment and skip the lines!
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, two documents proving your South Dakota address, and documents proving your social security number, citizenship, and any legal name changes.
  • Fees: $28 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move
  • Process: Before you register your car, you must have your VIN verified and have an emissions test conducted. You will then go to the nearest County Treasurer’s Office with the necessary documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, your title and registration application, and your damage disclosure statement.
  • Fees: Registration fees vary by weight, age, and type of your car.  There’s also a standard $10 title fee.

Tennessee

If you’re moving within the state:

If you’re moving to Tennessee from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to your nearest driver service center that handles licensing, take a mandatory vision exam, show the required documents, and pay the associated fee.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, two documents proving your Tennessee address, and documents proving your social security number and citizenship.
  • Fees: $28 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Before you can register your car, you will need to have an emissions test conducted and your VIN verified. You will then have to go to the local County Clerk Office and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, photo ID, proof of residency, proof of identification, and your emissions test results.
  • Fees: $26.50 registration fee. Hybrid cars have an additional fee of $100. Additional fees include: $9 emissions test fee (cash only), $11 title fee, $1 title transfer fee, and a $21.50 plate fee.

Texas 

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Your driver’s license number and social security number.

If you’re moving to Texas from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 90 days of your move
  • Process: You must go to your nearest Department of Public Safety location, take a mandatory vision exam, show the required documents and pay the associated fee.
  • What you’ll need: Texas vehicle registration, your license application, and documents proving your identity, social security number, citizenship, and texas address.
  • Fees: $25 fee for drivers ages 18 to 84 and a $9 fee for drivers 85 years or older.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your vehicle, you will need to secure a Texas insurance policy, verify your VIN, and have both an emissions test and safety inspection conducted. Then you will go to the county tax assessor’s office with the necessary documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title or registration, proof of an in-state insurance policy, VIN verification results, and safety inspection results.
  • Fees: $51.75 base registration fee with additional fees that vary depending on the county.

Utah

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license, social security number, VIN, and vehicle information (model and year).

If you’re moving to Utah from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to the nearest Driver’s License Division Office with the required documents, take a mandatory vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, your license application, and documents proving your identity, social security number, and Utah address.
  • Fees: $32 license fee for drivers 21 years or older.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will first need to have your car inspected, your emissions tested, and your VIN verified. Then you can go to the nearest DMV location with the required documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, title application, certificate of inspection, and emissions test results.
  • Fees: Registration fees can range from $10 to $150, depending on your vehicle’s age. There’s also a $6 title fee and a $110 plate fee. 

Vermont

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Your driver’s license, social security number, and proof of Vermont residency, and old and new address.

If you’re moving to Vermont from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest DMV branch with the necessary documents, take a mandatory vision exam, and pay the associated fees. Note: You may have to take a driving and written exam. 
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, your license application, and documents proving your identity, date of birth, and Vermont address.
  • Fees: $32 for a two-year license and $51 for a four-year license. Note: If you have to take additional exams, you must pay $19 for the road test and $32 for the knowledge exam.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move. Note: You have to have your car inspected with 15 days of it being registered.
  • Process: You will first need to secure a Vermont insurance policy, get your emissions tested, and your VIN verified. Then you can go to the nearest DMV location with the required documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title or registration, application for registration, proof of in-state insurance policy, odometer reading, VIN verification results, and proof of taxes paid on the vehicle.
  • Fees: The registration fee for gas and diesel vehicles is $76 for one year and $140 for two years. The fee for electric and hybrid cars is $132 for one year and $242 for two years. There’s also a $35 title fee.

Virginia

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license, date of birth, and old and new address. To change your address on your registration, you ‘ll need your VIN and the title number.

If you’re moving to Virginia from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You must go to the nearest DMV Customer Service Center with the required documents and pay the associated fees. You will have to complete a vision exam and may have to take a knowledge and driving test.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, license application, and documents proving your identity, social security number, citizenship, and Virginia address.
  • Fees: $32 license fee.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Prior to registering your car in Virginia, you will need to secure an in-state insurance policy, have an emission test conducted (only required in select counties), and verify your VIN. Then you can go to the nearest DMV customer service center with the necessary documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title or registration, your registration application, proof of a Virginia insurance policy, photo ID, proof of Virginia address, and your safety and emissions test results.
  • Fees: $40.45 registration fee for standard vehicles, $45.75 for pickup trucks, and $64 for electric vehicles. There’s also a $15 title fee.

Washington

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license, social security number, VIN, and license plate number.

If you’re moving to Washington from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to the nearest Driver Licensing Office, complete a vision exam, show the necessary documents, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Documents proving your identity, social security number, and a Washington insurance policy.
  • Fees: $35 application fee and a $54 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Before you can register your car, you will need to have an emissions test conducted on your vehicle and your VIN verified. Then you can go to the local vehicle licensing office with the necessary documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title, vehicle title application, odometer disclosure, and emissions test results.
  • Fees: Registration fees vary based on vehicle weight, type, license plate, and home address. Additional fees include: $15 title service fee, $5 registration service fee, $12 title transfer fee, $20 license plate fee, and a $15 emissions inspection fee.

Washington D.C.

If you’re moving within Washington D.C.:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license, email address, date of birth, social security number, and two documents proving your Washington D.C. residency.

If you’re moving to Washington D.C.:

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You must go to the nearest DMV location and take a vision and written exam. You’ll also have to take a driving test if your license has been expired for more than 90 days. At the DMV, you will also have to show the required documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, license application, and documents proving your identity, date of birth, and D.C. address.
  • Fees: $47 fee for an eight-year license.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Before you can register your car, you will need to have an emissions test and inspection conducted on your vehicle and your VIN verified. Then you can go to the local DMV location with the mandatory documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, current license, proof of D.C. insurance, and your vehicle inspection certificate.
  • Fees: Registration fees range from $72 to $155. There’s an additional $36/year fee for hybrid vehicles and a $26 title fee. Further fees include: $10 new vehicle inspection, $25 regular vehicle inspection and $7 title transfer.

West Virginia

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 20 days of your move
  • Process: You must mail in your change of address form to the DMV records section (address listed on the form).
  • What you’ll need: Change of address form, new address, and documents proving your identity, social security number, driver’s license number, and any legal name changes. You will also need two documents proving your West Virginia residency.

If you’re moving to West Virginia from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: You’ll have to go to the nearest DMV office with the required documents and pay the associated fee. If your current license has expired, you will have to take a vision, written, and driving test and a brief alcohol awareness course.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state license, license application, and documents proving your identity, West Virginia address, social security number, and any legal name changes.
  • Fees: License fees are charged at a rate of $5 per year plus $0.50 and depend on your next expiration date. License expiration dates are run on a “Drive for Five” model, meaning that your license will expire every year that your age is divisible by five.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move. Note: You must get your car inspected within 10 days after it is registered.
  • Process: You must first have your VIN verified before you can register your car. Then you can go to the nearest DMV location and pay the associated registration fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and your title application.
  • Fees: $51.50 registration and plate fee and a $15 title fee.

Wisconsin 

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address online.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license number, social security number, old/new addresses, and your date of birth.

If you’re moving to Wisconsin from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will have to go to the nearest DMV customer service center, show the required documents, and pay the associated fees. If you have not had a driver’s exam in the last eight years, you will have to take a driving test, knowledge test, highway sign recognition test, and a road test.
  • What you’ll need: Your license application and documents proving your identity, date of birth, social security number, citizenship, any legal name changes, and Wisconsin address.
  • Fees: $75 license fee. Note: There is a $100 additional fee for electric vehicles.

Registration:

  • Time: Within 60 days of your move
  • Process: You will need to go to the nearest DMV customer service center with the required documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, title application, and photo ID.
  • Fees: $75 registration fee with a $100 surcharge for electric vehicles. Additional fees include a $69.50 title fee, a $5 counter service fee, a $19.50 title transaction fee, and a $5 additional service fee.

Wyoming

If you’re moving within the state:

  • Change of address notification required for: License and registration
  • Time: Within 10 days of your move
  • Process: You can change your address in person at the nearest DOT location.
  • What you’ll need: Change of address form, driver’s license, and your old/new addresses.

If you’re moving to Wyoming from out of state: 

License:

  • Time: Within one year of your move. But if you have a license from Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee, or Wisconsin, you must apply as soon as you’ve established residency.
  • Process: You will have to go to the nearest exam station, show the required documents, take a vision exam, and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Driver’s license application and documents proving your identity, social security number, and name change. You will also need two documents proving your Wyoming address.
  • Fees: $40 license fee

Registration:

  • Time: Within 30 days of your move
  • Process: Before you can register your car, you will need to secure an in-state insurance policy and verify your VIN. You will then go to the nearest county clerk’s office with the required documents and pay the associated fees.
  • What you’ll need: Out-of-state title and registration, title application and VIN inspection form, and proof of Wyoming insurance.
  • Fees: $30 registration fee and $10 VIN inspection fee.

Back to top


Moving?

Make sure your mail moves with you!

Change your address at USPS.com now, and get access to over $750 in exclusive mover's coupons!

Get Started

Related Articles

MYMOVE’s Checklist for Moving Day and Beyond

The big day finally arrived. You’ve completed all the pre-move activities, packed the boxes, and loaded the truck. All that’s left now is…

Read More

The Things You’re Forgetting to Pack on Moving Day

During the weeks before (or the night before!) moving day, your brain is working overtime on the myriad of details involved in your move…

Read More

10 Quiet Dog Breeds for Your First Apartment

Your journey to independence has come to fruition! Now that you have your own apartment, you’re looking for that special roommate–of the…

Read More